skip navigation

Bowling Green rallies to keep Baltimore winless; Fort Wayne easily handle Middle TN in title game rematch

04/09/2017, 5:15pm CDT
By CBA Staff

BOWLING GREEN 107, BALTIMORE 103: (Russellville, Ky.) - Bowling Green, in their home opener this afternoon, did not get off to an ideal start to the game against visiting Baltimore, as they put themselves into a double-digit hole by halftime. But the 2015 league champions outscored Baltimore by 16 points in the third quarter to get erase the deficit, and used a 17-10 run in the final five minutes of the final frame to complete the rally and hand Baltimore its fourth consecutive defeat this season. Bowling Green (2-1) was led by Fred Sturdivant, Jared Stephens, and Marcus Bowins, who scored 20 points each, while Baltimore (0-4) was led by Damarius Cruz with 31 points and Torey Fassett with 23 points. Bowling Green will get back on the court two weeks from today with a home matchup against Indianapolis, while Baltimore will begin their four-game homestand with their home opener this Friday night against Mississippi. 

FORT WAYNE 106, MIDDLE TENNESSEE 90: (Fort Wayne, Ind.) - In a rematch of last year's championship game, where Fort Wayne knocked off Middle Tennessee, it was Fort Wayne who proved again to be several notches ahead of the visitors from Nashville. The defending champions went wire-to-wire this afternoon, jumping out to an early lead and never looking back, as they easily handled Middle Tennessee to earn their 13th consecutive regular season home victory, dating back to the 2014 season. Fort Wayne (3-0), was led by Ronald Lucas III and Mikel Brigham with 18 points each, while Middle Tennessee (1-3) was led by Torye Pelham with 23 points and DeAngelo Williams with 20 points. Fort Wayne, who has not lost a game since the 2015 championship game, will face Illinois at home next Saturday. Middle Tennessee, who have lost three consecutive games for the first time since 2013, will travel to Baltimore in two weeks. 

Tag(s): Home  News  Teams  Fort Wayne Flite  Indianapolis Blaze  Illinois Coal Miners  Bowling Green Hornets  Middle Tennessee Storm  Jackson Eagles  Baltimore Shuckers